Trains.com

Subscriber & Member Login

Login, or register today to interact in our online community, comment on articles, receive our newsletter, manage your account online and more!

Terminal strips and bus bars.....

16 replies
1 rating 2 rating 3 rating 4 rating 5 rating
  • 3 posts
Terminal strips and bus bars.....
Posted by Bailey07-GTW on Friday, October 17, 2008 10:40 PM

Can anyone explain in very simple terms how bus bars are incorporated with terminal strips??  I am new to model railroading and want to have a neat, no fuss wiring system.  I am running HO on a layout that is 8 x 11 L-shaped.  Any help would be appreciated.  Thanks in advance.

• 8,679 posts
Posted by maxman on Friday, October 17, 2008 11:30 PM

Speaking for myself, it is not clear what you are asking.  I'm pretty sure you don't mean buss bar.  In the electrical word a buss bar is a pretty thick piece of copper that is used to make a connection between two pieces of equipment.  Did you mean the electrical two-wire buss that goes from a DCC command station around the layout?

Or if you are talking terminal strips, did you mean the jumper wires that go from screw terminal to screw terminal on the terminal strip to get them all at the same polarity (or phase in DCC) with the single lead wire that comes from each buss wire?

• 30,002 posts
Posted by rrinker on Saturday, October 18, 2008 12:20 AM

Bailey07-GTW

Can anyone explain in very simple terms how bus bars are incorporated with terminal strips??  I am new to model railroading and want to have a neat, no fuss wiring system.  I am running HO on a layout that is 8 x 11 L-shaped.  Any help would be appreciated.  Thanks in advance.

If you mean something like this: