Trains.com

Amtrak Phases

5 replies
1 rating 2 rating 3 rating 4 rating 5 rating
  • 2 posts
Amtrak Phases
Posted by KenMasters1 on Sunday, December 31, 2006 12:33 AM
Hello all I am new to the model rail road scene and if some one can expalin the differences in the Amtrak phases. Are they from time frames or somthing like that ? Please I need a little guidence.
  • 712 posts
Posted by two tone on Sunday, December 31, 2006 4:41 AM
If you can give a bit more info we may be able to help youSmile [:)]

Age is only a state of mind, keep the mind active and enjoy life

• 1,829 posts
Posted by Southwest Chief on Sunday, December 31, 2006 7:30 PM
I hope this will help explain things for you.  Below are images of the major passenger car schemes using baggage cars created by a friend of mine for Microsoft Train Simulator (a computer game). 

Phase 1 (I)

The first true Amtrak scheme.  It consisted of wide red and blue stripes with small white pin stripes.  The "pointless" arrow in a white background adorned the ends.  The era for this scheme is 1972 to the late 70's.

Phase 2 (II)

Identical to phase I with the removal of the "pointless" arrows.  Late 70's to early 80's.

Phase 3 (III)

My favorite of the schemes.  This consisted of roughly equal red white and blue stripes.  Early 80's to mid 1990's.

Phase 4 (IV)

Debuting with the Superliner II's around 1994, this scheme featured small red and white pin stripes above a wide dark blue stripe.  1994 to mid 2000's 

Phase 4b (IVb) 

Somewhat similar to phase IV.  The dark blue stripe color was lightened, and a red safety stripe was added to the bottom of the car.  The new "3 sheets to the wind" logo was added and the long time standard Helvetica font changed to Frutiger.  Mid 2000's to the present.