Trains.com

Pullmor vs can motor - what's the difference?

18 replies
1 rating 2 rating 3 rating 4 rating 5 rating
  • 614 posts
Pullmor vs can motor - what's the difference?
Posted by Birds on Friday, November 28, 2008 11:57 AM

What is the difference between a Pullmor motor and a Can motor?

Why do many people consider one to be better than the other?

I have been working with 3-rail trains for over 15 years now, and I still don't know the difference.

Thanks. 

• 10,096 posts
Posted by lionelsoni on Friday, November 28, 2008 12:18 PM

Although Jerry Calabrese talks of "legendary Pullmor" motors, I hesitate to use that term, which was American Flyer's name for what are now called "traction tires".  What it seems to refer to are 3-pole universal motors.  These are series-wound motors, with laminated magnetic circuits so that they can be run on AC as well as DC.  They are similar to the type of motors traditionally used on prototype electric and Diesel-electric locomotives.  They are flexible in that they adapt their speed to the load being pulled.  It is not necessary that multiple motors, whether in one locomotive or in different locomotives of a multiple-unit lashup, be at all matched in their characteristics.