Trains.com

Subscriber & Member Login

Login, or register today to interact in our online community, comment on articles, receive our newsletter, manage your account online and more!

Painting Walthers brick-walled structures: ? emphasize mortar lines?

15 replies
1 rating 2 rating 3 rating 4 rating 5 rating
  • 28 posts
Painting Walthers brick-walled structures: ? emphasize mortar lines?
Posted by ksonkin on Thursday, September 18, 2008 11:11 PM
OK, I'm a novice here----but I am trying to "weather" the walls of a Walthers engine house and some of the modular structures that Walther makes. How do I make the mortar lines of the bricks stand out? The "other" magazine (MRC) had a recent article about kitbashing a Walther's structure---where the author apparently painted the brick walls a mortar color, then "dry-brushed" reddish-brown color onto the wall to emphasize the bricks. Isn't there a simpler method? Some sort of wash?
  • 111 posts
Posted by Courage8 on Friday, September 19, 2008 4:53 AM
I've had pretty good luck adding a thin paint wash of light grey and then wiping the brick surfaces lightly to remove the grey from the areas that I want to be red or brown brick.  I follow with a coat of Dullcote, then add any weathering in blacks and browns.
  • 3,948 posts
Posted by TomDiehl on Friday, September 19, 2008 5:40 AM

ksonkin wrote:
OK, I'm a novice here----but I am trying to "weather" the walls of a Walthers engine house and some of the modular structures that Walther makes. How do I make the mortar lines of the bricks stand out? The "other" magazine (MRC) had a recent article about kitbashing a Walther's structure---where the author apparently painted the brick walls a mortar color, then "dry-brushed" reddish-brown color onto the wall to emphasize the bricks. Isn't there a simpler method? Some sort of wash?