Trains.com

Subscriber & Member Login

Login, or register today to interact in our online community, comment on articles, receive our newsletter, manage your account online and more!

Painting the El Capitan interiors

28 replies
1 rating 2 rating 3 rating 4 rating 5 rating
  • 1,829 posts
Painting the El Capitan interiors
Posted by Southwest Chief on Friday, May 4, 2012 9:12 PM

I started painting my Walthers El Capitan Hi-Level interiors.  They really pop out at you when painted.  And they look so much more realistic then the typical tan Walthers interior. 

The coaches are pretty easy with just seats and a few wall panels to paint.  The diner took a little longer.  But the lounge, man did that take a long time to paint.

Here's the lounge:

Have you painted your Walthers Hi-Level interiors yet?  I'd like to see some photos if you have.

Matt from Anaheim, CA and Bayfield, CO
Click Here for my model train photo website

• 9,635 posts
Posted by AntonioFP45 on Friday, May 4, 2012 9:22 PM

SWChief,

Wow!  Beautiful, very meticulous work. I've saved your photos for basic reference as Santa Fe cars (single level, of course) often ran on east coast trains in sleeper run through as well as pool service.

Your El Capitan is going to be a first class train all the way around!

"I like my Pullman Standards & Budds in Stainless Steel flavors, thank you!"

• 8,639 posts
Posted by Texas Zepher on Friday, May 4, 2012 9:23 PM

Southwest Chief
Have you painted your Walthers Hi-Level interiors yet?

No, that project is in queue after all the projects for the Santa Fe Railway Historical & Modeling Society convention in June.

Your's are looking good and definitely an inspiration.

• 1,829 posts
Posted by Southwest Chief on Saturday, May 5, 2012 2:47 PM

Below is a list of paints and colors I'm using.