Trains.com

Subscriber & Member Login

Login, or register today to interact in our online community, comment on articles, receive our newsletter, manage your account online and more!

Cotton Gin modeling info?

12 replies
1 rating 2 rating 3 rating 4 rating 5 rating
  • 305,205 posts
Cotton Gin modeling info?
Posted by Anonymous on Monday, May 8, 2006 10:21 PM
Hi everyone!
I'm new to MR and the forums. A little background info before I get to my question.
I got interested in MR A little over a year ago, and started doing some research. I'm still in the planning stage, but I've decided I want to model a ficticious town in central Texas around the 1920's to 1930's serviced by the Texas & Pacific mainly, but maybe also the T&NO and/or Southern Pacific. I would like to model a small to medium sized cotton gin for the main industry. I know I'll have to scratch build it. I've found several pictures on the internet, so I kinda know what it's supposed to look like, but has someone done something similar that could offer some suggeastions/advice/examples? I've already learned a tremendous amount by reading the posts on this forum for the past few months.
Thanks in advance!
  • 492 posts
Posted by tjsmrinfo on Tuesday, May 9, 2006 8:03 AM
gjwhitehorn seeing how you live in NE Texas finding an old cotton gin shouldnt be to hard to find. You can also follow US 82 west from Sherman to Wichita Falls then US 287 towards Amarillo, as theres several cotton gins that way, and they are still in operation.
Also I believe theres an old gin here in Sherman and in Denison.

Tom
  • 305,205 posts
Posted by Anonymous on Tuesday, May 9, 2006 8:16 AM
Tom,
Thanks for the info.

Gary
  • 1,138 posts
Posted by MidlandPacific on Tuesday, May 9, 2006 9:09 AM